What was it? 

I meant to ask you…
something…
Long ago.
In a dream.
In a fit of hope.
But the morning rain
washed it away.
The breeze drank it
from my bones.
A letter I forgot to send?
An idea that came
in the stillness of night
and then lost at first light?
No, it was a color, but
I couldn’t recall the name.
Something exotic.
No, it was a song, but
I couldn’t remember the words
so we made them up
as we went along,
and now I can’t remember
the lyrics we sang
better than the original.
Sprinkle sprinkle on the car,
wipe the window and let’s go…
Far?
To the stars?
Damn it…

(dtn)

Leave a comment

Filed under Words

What do you think? Let me know with a word or three!

