Another broken window

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

If I could take every
broken window, every
fractured perception
of youth, I could
grind the shards
into sand and set it
under the weight
of those forfeited
dreams and burning
fears until I created
a new pane of
sincerity untouched
by the stain of memory,
and with it rebuild
all those lost roads
until time crept in
to chip away at
the vision once more
like thousands of miles
and endless sunsets.

(dtn)

About today’s poem:
I’ve always been fascinated by the sound of breaking glass and the power it has to disrupt the cadence of any setting, even in memory. For me, the sound brings forth memories of both shame and rebellion, and looking back on all those broken windows I can’t help but think of how I wish I could fix them all.

2 Comments

Filed under Words

2 responses to “Another broken window

What do you think? Let me know with a word or three!

