Farewell to the stars

Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset

I’ve said my farewells
to my favorite stars, their
glistening sparkle faded
long ago, but still they wave
high in the night sky as if
to deny the void its victory,
these rebellious diamonds
lost in the folds of time.
Should they wave their last
and falter without my noticing,
their surrender complete
and tune dismantled, I wonder
if like the delicate skin of daffodils
they will fade silently, if like
the cool kiss of a morning breeze
their absence will be felt too late,
and in their wake I’ll be left
to wonder just how long
adolescence in turtles lasts,
just how far the most ambitious
stars will fall before being noticed,
and just how long the sad revery
will reign before I join their ranks.

(dtn)

2 Comments

Filed under Words

2 responses to “Farewell to the stars

  1. gerald

    nice david..

What do you think? Let me know with a word or three!

