Patience

Processed with VSCOcam with c6 preset

Spring white
among blankets
of summer cream
stretching ruefully
across fractured glass
between us, counting
every passing bee
pollen-coated and
floating before us;
I have made
my caricatures
of immortality
from my own flesh,
leaving you to walk
the road for me,
but there among
summer briar
and wind-swept
crevices of bridges
waits solitude,
that unfaithful
and thirsty companion,
and the paths
through mountains
only he knows;
no, I’ll not leave you
so unprepared,
so ill equipped
with only deaf ears
for nostalgia.
Soon you’ll know
the secrets
I’ve convinced
these passing bees
to carry for me.

(dtn)

2 Comments

Filed under Words

2 responses to “Patience

  1. gerald

    that’s beautiful stuff david….

What do you think? Let me know with a word or three!

