The last strawberry

The last strawberry

Over the last year or so, I’ve had a decent taste of what being a father is about. I no longer care about unknown stains on my shirts, and full diapers have lost their potency. And as long as there is no fish mixed in, I can apparently sleep right through your spitting up all over the middle pillow in the wee hours of the morning. But it wasn’t until last night that I understood the depth of the sacrifices I’ve yet to make; I could only sit in amazement as you snarfed the last strawberry, after eating nearly the entire pack by yourself. (Mom had a few, but I was the little piggy who had none). That’s almost 15 strawberries you alone devoured! And at $4 (¥480) a pack, they are hardly cheap. C’est la vie, I suppose. I at least hope they were enjoyable, you little strawberry-eating piggy.

(dtn)

2 Comments

Filed under Words

2 responses to “The last strawberry

  1. gerald

    no strawberry’s for you….

What do you think? Let me know with a word or three!

