Easy smiles

20140317-073823.jpg
If smiling overcame you any easier
I’d be forced to hide the world
for fear of instilling a sense
of false security at every turn,
but luckily you have reserves
and refuse to smile at strangers,
content to question the stares
and interest that grabs them
like the sun cresting the morning
or a swift stream after a rain.
Their glances are understood,
and to say I’m not proud
would be a humble and quick lie,
a hat I don to cover my own smile
slowly widening under the brim.
If smiling came any easier to me
I’d be forced to hide you away
for fear of looking arrogantly proud
of the wonder you embody.

(dtn)

Leave a comment

Filed under Words

What do you think? Let me know with a word or three!

